1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Why tuples? I dont want tuples.

I posted on here a couple days ago about concatenating lists and got the answer I was looking for, but now Ive hit another snag. I get the lists combined and I learned how to write them to a file, but now the file with the combined lists is in tuple form and has the \n after every value like this: (aaa\n , 111\n)
    Im not looking for a tuple, I just want the aaa111 aaa222 and so on. Im just learning all this so the way I got that to work was to piece together code that I either googled or was told about on here, I looked through it and Im not seeing it. I figured that it was a formatting issue with python writing the code instead of the string or something, like writing print('hello') instead of the desired hello to the file. Anyway. Here is the code, Im combining two txt files, one named testWords which has aaa bbb ccc on seperate lines(hence \n popping up). The second file is testNum and has 111 222 333 on seperate lines also. Im combining these and making a new file testMyList.

import itertools

words = open('testWords.txt','r')
    numbers = open('testNum.txt','r')

x = words
    y = numbers

product_list = list(itertools.product(x, y))
    print([''.join(a) for a in product_list])

with open('testMyList.txt','w') as file:
    for item in product_list:
    file.write('{}\n'.format(item))

On a side note, Im wondering how to just return something like
    print([''.join(a) for a in product_list]) without printing it. I tried putting return in its place and it gave me an error that it was outside of the function.

So there it is, close but no cigar. I also know the problem shows up before the writing to the final file if that helps.
  3. No Profile Picture