1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Usecols function

hi,
    I am very new to python so I am having problems with even the basic functions. This is used in numpy I guess. my problem is :

I have a txt file with heterogeneous types of data columns. first column is a string second column is an integer, third is string, fourth is float etc. but when I use genfromtxt function with usecols=0, 2 option, for example if I want to see the string columns it doesnt work first column appears as it is in the file but I see the third column as whitespaces. I tried defining dtype as str didnt work and Now I dont know what to do???
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Can you provide a same of the text file, or if the data is sensitive a sample of how it looks?

Anyway, your problem has nothing to do with numpy or anything -- you just need to get data out of the text file and into a data structure within Python so you can start doing things with the data.

Here is a sample snippet that might give you some ideas:

Let's say we have a sample file with columns like this
    Code:
    joe   47   $216
    john 137  $4624
    Now we want to split it into a list of tuples so we can do things with it within our program:
    python Code:
    f = open('sample.txt', 'r')
    v = [tuple(l.split()) for l in f.readlines()]
    print(v)
    f.close()

Produces:
    Code:
    [('joe', '47', '$216'), ('john', '137', '$4624')]
    If I wanted to make a dict of names to integer values from the second column I could change it to this:
    python Code:
    f = open('sample.txt', 'r')
    v = [tuple(l.split()) for l in f.readlines()]
    print(v)
    d = dict([(x[0], int(x[1])) for x in v])
    print(d)
    f.close()

to produce:
    Code:
    [('joe', '47', '$216'), ('john', '137', '$4624')]
    {'john': 137, 'joe': 47}