1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Using [:i] and [i:]?

hi, I'm studying an example of a hangman program. here's the bit of the code important to my question:

Code:
    def displayBoard(HANGMANPICS, missedLetters, correctLetters, secretWord):
        print(HANGMANPICS[len(missedLetters)]) #print item in HANGMANPICS corresponding with
                                               #length of missedLetters
        print()

print('missed letters:', end=' ')
        for letter in missedLetters: #do statements of loop for each variable in parameter
            print(letter, end=' ') #print every missed letter
        print()

blanks = '_' * len(secretWord)

for i in range(len(secretWord)): #replace blanks with correctly guessed letters
            if secretWord[i] in correctLetters: #if item of secretWord string is in correctLetters
                blanks = blanks[:i] + secretWord[i] + blanks[i+1:]

for letter in blanks: #show the secret word with spaces inbetween each letter
            print(letter, end=' ')
        print()
    the line I'm confused by is this:

Code:
    blanks = blanks[:i] + secretWord[i] + blanks[i+1:]
    this line is supposed to replace underscores with the correct letters guessed in the game. I've never seen [i] used with colons before this example and the explanation of how it works doesn't make sense to me
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

In most ways a string is a list of characters. So 'python' can be thought of as ['p', 'y', 't', 'h', 'o', 'n']. In Python this isn't always true (where in C or Haskell it is always true (and in C even truer if you admit that everything is an integer that is told to pretend it is something else)), but generally thinking of strings this way is useful.

Bracket ranges on lists can be of the form [index] or [start:stop] or [start:stop:step], and omitting either of start or stop will assume the very first or very last element in the list.