Page 1 of 4 123 ... Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Lightbulb Tips, tricks, inspiration, etc

I had an idea to make a thread where people can post tips, tricks, thing to inspire or motivate people, links, etc.

Hopefully this thread will be able to help any Pythoner. Whether it be a complete beginner or a very advanced expert.

Tips: An example would be stuff that will help improve someone's programming. Such as: "Instead of using all of these functions, you can easily accomplish the same thing just using these two functions."

Tricks: An example would be stuff that will help someone program faster.

Inspiration: An example would be anything that serves as a great source of inspiration.

Motivation: An example would be anything that helps motivate someone.

Links: This could be newsgroups, mailing lists, IRC channels, web sites, etc.

If people like this thread and post a lot of stuff, I will make a documentation.

Enjoy!

Comments on this post

• mxatzis12 agrees : awesome!!!
    • codealot agrees
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

I like this idea. Hope ppl can try keep the msgs consice

Here's a couple of things I just picked up.
    I'm on a few python mailing lists and this one came up recently.
    This is supposed to be much faster than providing a comparison function to list.sort()
    Code:
    unsorted_list = [{'id':99, 'title':'a'},{'id':42, 'title':'b'}, ... ] 
    decorated_list = [(x['id'],x) for x in unsorted_list]
    decorated_list.sort()
    sorted_list = [y for (x,y) in decorated_list]
    Another thing: using : 'dictarray = [{}]*10' creates only one dictionary, with ten references to it.
    whereas 'dictarray = [{} for i in range(10)]' creates 10 seperate dictionaries

Cheers,
    Eli
  5. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)