1. Registered User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Versioning and general programming etiquette how to.

I started writing a small python application that has blossomed into a bigger python application. If you didn't know from my previous posts, I'm new to python and programming in general. My newest question, which doesn't appear to have a clear answer from the results of my google searching, is this:

How is revisioning or versioning done?

Because that's clear as mud let me elaborate. I'm not sure how to keep my new application stored. Do I keep a copy of each version in a seperate directory for posterity? Is there a python versioning-type tool? I'm the only one developing this application. I'm pretty sure because it's so nichey that no one else would even want it, but just to start good practices I wanted to know how different versions are supposed to be kept or what the versioning process is.

I know this is very subjective, but I want to make sure that I don't start programming with bad habits. I'd like to start off on the right foot.

Speaking of which, is there a standard code snippet that's used to tell a user things such as version and possible flags? (Think command line app being passed --help or -h or /?.)

A kick in the right direction would be appreciated. And no, I haven't purchased any python "How To Program" books yet. I've been using the internet for all of my questions so far.

Thanks in advance!
  3. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

It depends how over the top you want to go
    Stuff I use:
    Under Windows have I've used CS-RCS which is free for personal use and fairly easy to use. It also interfaces well with Textpad, a powerful code editor I like.
    I have since "moved on" to CVS as I now have a small Linux server on my home network. With that I use the TortoiseCVS client which intergerates well with the Windows UI. I like the idea of having the version repository off-machine.