1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Saving Preferences

Hello fellow Python programmers! Im a newbie that just joined. Anyways I need help. Im making a text editor program. The first problem Ive had so far is saving/getting the prefferences. How could I do that? Like maybe I have stuff like HTML tag colors for santax highlighting, and if they want to view line numbers just for a few examples. If anyone could please lead me in the right direction it would be greatly appreciated.

BTW: I just started learning Python and its awesome! way better than C++, or C# combined! Im glad my friend told me about it. I just wish it was a little more popular so it would be easier to find support and stuff for it.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Do you want the options file to be editable by the user?

If so then take a look at the ConfigParser module in the standard library. This lets you read config files in a similar format to Windows .ini files, e.g.

Code:
    [SectionName]
    key = value
    #or
    key: value
    However the module does not handle writing out the config file - you have to do that yourself.

If you are not concerned about having the config editable by the user, then I would use the pickle module. Create an object to hold all the options - this could be a dictionary or a class. Then save and load it like this:

Code:
    import pickle   #(or import cPickle as pickle, which is faster)

def saveOptions(options, filename):
        pickle.dump(options, file(filename, 'wb'), -1)

def loadOptions(options, filename):
        return pickle.load(file(filename, 'rb'))
    Regards,

Dave - The Developers' Coach
  5. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Like DevCoach says, pickle is the normal way to save data.
    It just so happens my ptypes module here provides dictionaries and lists with built in pickleing.