1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Need recommendations for new Python install

Greets,

Well all the regulars here know I'm not a programmer.And in my short experience with Python,I have picked up alot of Python related apps.Just got another computer,and I'm going to install Python on it,and I was just wondering what the pros would recommend.I don't want to install everything I got,if one or two of them would do the trick.I am running WinXP on the new machine and I have installers for:

Python 2.3
    Active Python 2.3.2
    wxPythonWIN32-2.4.2
    Python Card Prototype 0.7.2
    PyWin32-200

Any recommendations or advise would be greatly appreciated!
    It is not important if the glass is half full or half empty.What is important,is who has been drinking from MY glass?!?!?
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Personally, you should download Python 2.3.3 which has a few bugfixes from 2.3.2

http://www.python.org/2.3.3/

On top of that, you can also optionally download and install Mark Hammond's Windows Specific packages, even if you don't plan to do any COM programming, simply because he provides a pretty nice Windows editor (Pythonwin) for python. You can find a link to his extensions (win32all) in the above link. I would recommend downloading and installing python 2.3.2 and win32all for sure.