1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Question Puthon to VB interface

Guys,

I need some advice (sample) on how to use Python engine from inside VB (visual basic) by directly linking to Py .dll functions. I'm a newbie to Python and it would be a bit longer way for me built COM in Python at this time. I do need to use the numerical packages that Python has.
    I've managed to initialize and close Python from inside VB. That is I know I how to declare the functions from python23.dll for VB to be able to call them. However, I was wondering if there is one out-there who would know how to manage passing of the data.
    Thanks.

dguzun
  3. No Profile Picture

Question

Hii dguzun,

I am also trying to do same kind stuff. What i need is to provide facility to end user to write own script in Python and run that script during runtime in VB. I am trying to build COM in python. Let us hope it will work.

But for now, As you mationed that you know how to declare function in VB to use python23.dll functionality, can u please post example here? I do not have clue for that. It might helpful for me. I am not sure. But it would be good help for me to work further.

Thanks in advance. I hope you will understand and post it here or attach as zip file or provide any reference for it.

DevHims
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

I would have thought that calling the Python DLL from VB would be a lot more time consuming that using COM. Calling the DLL would mean you have to handle all the low level reference counting, which can get messy, or at least tedious.

You can wrap Python classes using Windows Script Components (WSC). This is a recent M$ addition to COM that lets you define an interface to Python (or any other Active Scripting language) in a XML, and the system does the rest.
    The M$ docs are at http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/de...l/lettitle.asp