1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

newb to python: snippets/tutorials

ok, I am a newb to programming in Python, the only other language I've mastered was Basic/A-Basic, I started learning C++ but gave up at a pretty early stage.

I am currently working on developing a Network-based chat program, merely to get the systems interacting, and reading each other's data.

I was able to do this in A-Basic, and was able to get it to work pretty nicely, if anyone has any snippets of code, or if anyone can quickly write out a short tutorial on working with files and such, it would be a great help - I am currently studying many online tutorials/books about python, so I should be ok... i hope...

For a quick summary as to how mah A-Basic version worked, here I go:
    (running Mac OSX.3) I simply connected to another computer on mah personal network, this brings up a folder of the connected computer, (not sure how if would work on other computer setups). In this folder I had, precreated, a folder, 'System' and within it a folder for each registered screen name that could be used. Everytime a message was sent to a user, it would check if the folder for that user existed, then send the message within a text file to said folder. Obviously, the receiving computer would see this, read it, and post it on that users screen.

That's bassically how it would work, any form of help would be VERY much appreciated. Also, feel free to e-mail me, or even message meh on AIM, I'm online just about all the time. ^^
  3. No Profile Picture

Real question-ness...

okay, I was thinking about it, and for simplicity's sake, I hafta ask this question...

can python, while getting an input, also multi-task, and check for existing files? if not, im gonna need to know how to tell when a key has been pressed, if anyone can answer these questions, please do. ^^
  5. Mini me.
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)