1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

unsure of how it all works

hi,

I have been looking at the 101 tutorials and am finding them quite useful. However, i have only read parts 1-3 so far. I am just a bit unsure of how you call a python script from a web page though.... I am coming from a php background and the way I see it at the moment is that you put your python script in cgi-bin and then call it directly from there... am I correct in thinking this? what needs to be setup (say with apache) in order to use python?

Also, I am just wondering what the advantages of using python over php would be?? I have read some where that python is a proper OO language - is this all?

thanks in advance,

dave

Comments on this post

• Gran Roguismo agrees
  3. Big Endian
    Devshed Beginner (1000 - 1499 posts)

I've been using Perl as a scripting language for a couple of years and I'm new to web development. Last month, I started learning Python and really like the language. As such, I'm not a guru capable of answering your questions based on years of personal experience. If you know PHP and can do everything you want to do in it, I don't know of any particular reason you would want to switch to Python. In my case, I'm interested in learning OO programming techniques and figured this would be a good language to learn on. If you haven't looked a Zope (www.zope.org) which is an Open Source web application server written in Python, you might want to check it out.

what needs to be setup (say with apache) in order to use python?
    http://starship.python.net/crew/dave...=faq01.001.htp
    http://starship.python.net/crew/dave....cgi?req=index

Also, I am just wondering what the advantages of using python over php would be?? I have read some where that python is a proper OO language - is this all?