Thread: Python & MySQL

Page 1 of 3 123 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Python & MySQL

I'm just starting to learn python, and I want to know what classes or modules there are for interaction with a MySQL with python, thanks in advanced for any help.
  3. No Profile Picture

There is a module named MySQLdb. It's a mysql wrapper. I think you can find it on sourceforge.net. I don't think it is being maintained any more.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

As said by deflator...MySQLdb is the module you have to eye on. There's a very nice overview in our devshed articles section ...you could have a go at it!

MySQL Connectivity With Python

Peace,
    Subha
  7. Contributing User

Hello I have already asked this question but haven't got a very clear response, I was wondering if someone could help me with this problem. My problem is that I have both MySql and Python on my computer but the Python is not able to detect the MySQL. I have looked at the DevShed article which says:
    The first thing to do is make sure that you have the MySQLdb module installed on your
    Python development system. The easiest way to check this via the interactive Python
    command line interpreter − as the following example demonstrates:
    But this is for Linux. I have a Windows XP computer. On the MySQLdb documentation, they also say if you have Windows we can't help you much!
    Does anyone know where I have to put mySQLdb in order for python to detect it?

Thanks alot for your help.
  9. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

I've never had a problem with MySQLdb on Windows I will admit that it took me a few tries to get it working on my Mac . Anyway, download the latest compatible .exe from sourcforge and run it. This will add the module to Pythons site-packages directory (where it will be seen). Next: