1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Strings From os.system

I am new to Python (which will be obvious very soon), and I am having trouble conceptualizing something rather simple.

I am trying to do some simple shell stuff using Python (even though I know I can do it with Bash). My command thus far is:

Code:
    include system
    include os

os.system ("lsof -i | grep -i est")
    This gives me the output that I would have got from running this as a command, obviously, but the problem is that I want to work on each of the returned lines further.

I'd like to be able to do things like trim the hostname/ip out of the lines using regex (easy enough), and do things with those addresses. The problem is I need to be able to get them into variables in the first place. The problem is, I can't figure out how to get these lines into Python to work with them. Using os.system just returns it to stdout immediately, and I don't see how to stop that.

Anyway, hopefully someone can see what I'm talking about and help the noob.

Thanks.
    Last edited by danielrm26; February 15th, 2005 at 06:21 PM. Reason: Name change
  3. Contributing User

hi

can you give us some example lines of output and what kind of output you expect to produce? that will help a lot

i'm sorry I'm not familiar with the unix commands (other than grep). Basically if I got you right, I'd dump the output into a file, and then loop through it's lines to produce my variables for each loop of each line returned until I run out of variables.

os.walk is a recursive method that goes down each directory branch and then each succeeding branch, so take a look at that one. But since I don't know what you're looking for in particular I'm not sure if this is relevant here.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I don't have a unix box here to test this out, but I bet using the popen method would work, i.e.

>>> import os
    >>> text = os.popen("lsof -i | grep -i est").read()