Thread: java or python?

Page 1 of 2 12 Last
  • Jump to page:
  1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

java or python?

i want to design a simple RPG, but i dont knwo what language to use. i am a beginner, so i want to start small. i heard that both python and java are good languages to begin with.
    which would be better to use to make a simple role-playing game?
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

I'm guessing this RPG will be using visual graphics? I would suggest using Java. Java is also what Runescape is made in. I don't really think Python is meant for that kind of programming, I've seen a screenshot of one or two RPG's made in Python through wxPython. They didn't look all that great either.
  5. No Profile Picture

quick ?

so what kind of games is python good for?
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Python isn't for designing games. It is a programing language that can be used for games. Python is more of a quick scripting lang that can be used on medium size projects pretty easyly. You can make a game with it, but it really wouldn't be all that easy or that great. I know there is pyOpenGl witch could make it better, i have never personly used it.

However i beleave java would be the best solution. It has more built in tools and is easyly extendible. It is also has things for it that is built for designing games.

But don't think this as me saying no to python. You could make an amazing game with python. I personly just beleave it would be easyer to make the same game in java than python, I also beleave it would run better in java than python.
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Don't believe what Yegg & CyberHigh say - Python is fine for RPGs. You will need a good graphics engine written in C or C++, but there are several of those for Python.