1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

noob CGI scripting question

Hello, everyone. I am a newbie to Python, and I'm trying to create a login page for users of a CGI/MySQL-based web application.

Basically, I have made a login screen that accepts a username and password. Python goes through all screen names and passwords in my database and checks to see if the entered username/password combo works anywhere. If so, It's supposed to link to a config page for the user, where the user who signed in gets to edit his account configuration, which will be controlled by config.py.

MY problem is that I can't figure out a way to show config.py which user is logged in. I would think that there's some easy way to let my login.py communicate this information to config.py automatically, but I don't see how to do this. Here's my script for login.py, which gets its data from the form on login.html:

Code:
    #!C:/Python23/python.exe
    import cgi
    import MySQLdb
    print "Content-Type: text/html"
    print
    form = cgi.FieldStorage()

db = MySQLdb.connect(host="localhost", user="root", passwd="",  db="assignments")
    cursor = db.cursor()
    cursor.execute("SELECT * FROM users")
    verify = cursor.fetchall()
    for record in verify:
        if form["username"].value == record[0]:
            if form["password"].value == record[2]:
                what shall I do?
            else:
                print """Your password for the given user name is incorrect. 
    Please verify that you typed in the correct username and password. 
    If you have not signed up, please go back to the login page and sign up."""
  3. Hello World :)
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

There's a number of ways to pass data from one page to another, the simplest being by - in this case, passing the username - data as part of the pathstring.. Take a look at this thread for more info on this..

http://forums.devshed.com/t81768/s.html