1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Image Stitching in Python

Hello everybody.. I am working to develop a code for image stitching in python. As input I use hdf5 images which I convert into tiff files for ease of use. I also have a naive stitching method which stitches images -- infact opens images one after another. But the stitching i am trying to achieve is that these images should be stitched by taking the common regions between them. i.e. the second image has some region which is similar to the first image, the third image with some region similar to the second and so on. In total there are 16 such images. The code should be able to find the common regions and then stitch them...

I am new to python programming and any help and code snippets would greatly benefit me to proceed further...

Thanks in advance !!!
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

I'd use Nelder-Mead optimization with scipy module
    http://docs.scipy.org/doc/scipy/reference/tutorial/optimize.html

How many degrees of freedom need you account for?

You described translation in at least one direction,

Possibly translation in the perpendicular direction as well,

If you changed the focal length you'd need a scale factor,

Did the camera tilt? You'd need to account for rotation.

Change a color filter? Maybe you could convert the images to gray scale and include a pixel value scale factor. (Or you could eliminate this variable before optimization by adjusting brightness to make the approximate overlapped regions have same average brightness.)

Some of these parameters could be constrained. I usually construct artificial large values to steer around invalid data values.