1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Python function comparison

I'm just learning Python. I want to use:

while random.random() < .5 ....

to iterate until I get a random number > .5, but no joy.

It seems like it ought to work, since random.random() < .5 in most contexts returns a boolean value.

Thanks for any help.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by casey2u
    I'm just learning Python. I want to use:

while random.random() < .5 ....

to iterate until I get a random number > .5, but no joy.

It seems like it ought to work, since random.random() < .5 in most contexts returns a boolean value.
    It ought to work and as far as I can see it DOES work unless youíre doing something you donít mention here. See this sample session from PyShell:

Code:
    for i in range(10):
        while random.random() < 0.5:
            print('Round {0} -- Not yet, stay tuned'.format(i))

Round 1 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 1 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 2 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 3 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 3 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 5 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 6 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 7 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 8 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    Round 9 -- Not yet, stay tuned
    My armada: openSUSE 13.1 (home desktop, home laptop), Crunchbang Linux 11 (mini laptop, work laptop), Android 4.2.1 (tablet)
  5. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Intermediate (1500 - 1999 posts)

Your idea isn't usable exactly as you stated it, but you can do something like
    python Code:
    x = 0
    while x < 0.5:
        x = random.random()
    However, an easier way to get a random number in the range [0.5, 1) is (1 + random.random())/2.
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Originally Posted by Lux Perpetua
    Your idea isn't usable exactly as you stated it,
    Not true, unless the actual random value is needed. See:

Code:
    >>> import random