1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

2 newbie questions; input and string manipulations

Hi guys,
    im new to python and i can really use some help with it.

my first question:
    is there a simple way to obtain as input three integers from user with one command?
    im talking about something equivalent to the c command where you can obtain as many inputs as you want with just one line:
    Code:
    scanf("%d %d %d %d...", &a, &b, &c, &d...)
    my second question:
    where can i find a list of functions that can manipulate strings?
    for example, lets say im getting from the user an integer number (with raw_input) - and i want to access one of the memory cells (i assume python saves each digit on 4 bits memory cell) and change its value as i please.
    or - another example - i want to count how many digits are there.
    or - i want to evaluate if the string doesn't hold any signs(char), in other words - to make sure it holds only digits.

are these operations possible?

thanks in advanced, and have a nice day!
  3. Contributing User

Originally Posted by so.very.tired
    Hi guys,
    im new to python and i can really use some help with it.

my first question:
    is there a simple way to obtain as input three integers from user with one command?
    im talking about something equivalent to the c command where you can obtain as many inputs as you want with just one line:
    Code:
    scanf("%d %d %d %d...", &a, &b, &c, &d...)
    my second question:
    where can i find a list of functions that can manipulate strings?
    for example, lets say im getting from the user an integer number (with raw_input) - and i want to access one of the memory cells (i assume python saves each digit on 4 bits memory cell) and change its value as i please.
    or - another example - i want to count how many digits are there.