Thread: Speedometer

1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Speedometer

Hi, I am a bit of a newbie and have a simple problem that I cannot solve so I have come here to get some help from the experts.

I am trying to count the number of gpio inputs per second. I have the simple code to count the number of inputs and I can count a second using time.time etc. I just cannot figure out the code required to count inputs per second?

Any help would be appreciated!

Thanks,

Martin.
  3. Contributing User

import datetime
    t1=datetime.datetime.now()
    #do some stuff; accumulate count
    t2=datetime.datetime.now()
    elapsed=t2.second-t1.second
    elapsed+=(t2.microsecond-t1.microsecond)/1000000.0
    frequency=count/elapsed

Comments on this post

• Erents agrees
  5. No Profile Picture

Thank you rrashkin, I have tried this code but it does not appear to give me the frequency per second. It just seems to be returning a lot of random numbers. The only difference to your code is that I have an if statement and count = count+1 to read the inputs?! Is there a way of doing this with time. Sleep (1)?!
  7. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

You might find a higher resolution timer on your sound card. Ha ha good luck. I don't understand any of this thread, especially "frequency per second". Almost an acceleration.
    [code]Code tags[/code] are essential for python code and Makefiles!
  9. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

I think you are looking for APM (actions per minute)? Or second/whatever. Well anyways, I had to do some digging but I found an old AutoHotkey script I wrote which did this (http://forums.ageofempiresonline.com/forums/permalink/158900/158183/ShowThread.aspx#158183) .. it's not in Python obviously. But it's a very short script and shows the concept.