1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with universal functions

Hi!

I am fairly new to python, have just been playing with the arduino for a while, but got kinda bored with the limitations so that's why i'm now going for raspberry pi and python to control the arduino's outputs and receiving temperature/humidity data and so on from it.

The arduino only sends data when its requested from the pi, and the data integrity is checked by a crc32 checksum.

What my problem is, is that I want a universal function to split sensor data, check integrity and then print it. I have written a code that reads up to 2 sensors, but its kinda lame to have to add to the code if I want more of them, after all I want it to be universal, easier to read and reusable for other people too.

Would appreciate any pointers for how I could accomplish this! The code i'm now using has had alot of improvements since I started on it, but I still feel there's alot more to do. As this is the first "real" python program i'm writing, i'm learning alot! And I gotta say, python is great!

Anyway here is the part I need help with.

Code:
    import time
    import serial
    import binascii
    import re

ser = serial.Serial('/dev/ttyAMA0', 9600) # Arduino connected to raspberrypi's UART

def ifIn(first,checksum,crc32,id,reading):
            if first == "TEMP" and checksum == crc32:       # Compare against types of readings and check that checksums match
                    print id + " Temperature: " + reading   # 
            elif first == "HUMI" and checksum == crc32:
                    print id + " Humidity: " + reading
            elif first == "DSDS" and checksum == crc32:
                    print id + " DS temp: " + reading
            elif first == "LDR" and checksum == crc32:
                    print id + " LDR: " + reading
            else:
                    print "Checksum failed, discarding reading!"