1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Sqlite3, csv, and python help

Hi guys, it's my first time working with sqlite3 and python together so I apologize for my noobness.

I'm a bit confused with how to write python code to correctly load certain columns from a csv file into SQLite3 database. There's a lot of columns in my file but I only need 10 of them.

Right now, this is my code:
    Code:
    vehicles = csv.reader(open("vehicles.csv"))

con = None

try:
        con = sqlite.connect('vehicles.db')

cur = con.cursor()   
        cur.execute("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS Vehicles") 
        cur.execute("CREATE TABLE Vehicles(Year INT, Make TEXT, Model TEXT, VClass TEXT, Cylinders INT, Displ REAL, Trany TEXT, City08 INT, Highway08 INT, Combo08 INT)")
        cur.executemany("INSERT INTO Customer VALUES(?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?,?)", vehicles)
        con.commit()

finally:
        if con:
            con.close()
    If anyone could help me, I would really appreciate it.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Here you go. I haven't verified the results though.

Code:
    import sqlite3 as sqlite
    import sys
    import csv

vehicles = csv.DictReader(open("vehicles.csv"))
    con = None

try:
        con = sqlite.connect('vehicles.db')

cur = con.cursor()
        cur.execute("DROP TABLE IF EXISTS Vehicles")
        cur.execute("CREATE TABLE Vehicles(Year INT, Make TEXT, Model TEXT, VClass TEXT, Cylinders INT, Displ REAL, Trany TEXT, City08 \
    INT, Highway08 INT, Combo08 INT)")
        con.commit()

for row in vehicles:
            cur.execute("INSERT INTO Vehicles VALUES('%s','%s','%s','%s','%s','%s','%s','%s','%s','%s')" % (row.get('year'),
                                                                                                            row.get('make'),
                                                                                                            row.get('model'),