1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Some advice on graphics

Well I'm a student at university and I'm planning my final year project which will be a simulation of the Earth and its atmosphere and how objects interact with it. I think I'm ok with the physics side of things as this will simply be a matter of vector calculations etc. But I want to be able to represent the simulation in 2D graphics. For example a window that shows a ballistic trajectory through the atmosphere etc.

My question is, what is the best method of creating these graphics? Because the window would need to update quite quickly to essentially create a real time video of the simulation.

I have some basic experience with PyGame but I think that the origin system being based on the top left of the screen (y co-ordinates increase in value with decreased height) will create a lot of problems. I understand that I could convert all the co-ordinates into PyGame co-ordinates but this isn't exactly an elegant solution.

Is there any more suitable module that could do what I need it to?

Thanks
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

The standard in 2d graphics is the top left corner. I felt this a bit strange at first but honestly you do get used to it. It really shouldn't complicate your problem very much.

That said, you could just draw everything to a surface with respect to the way you envision the coordinate system, and then before drawing that surface to the screen use pygame.transform.flip to flip it.

Either way it shouldn't be a huge hurtle.

-Mek
  5. No Profile Picture

I see. I think I'll go with your suggestion of using the transform.flip() function. Thanks for that.

PyGame does seem to be the best option because it has a big community and plenty of documentation. Where as pyglet and a lot of the other alternatives have almost no documentation.