1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Read txt file, add to iptables not working

First, let me say that I have no knowledge of or experience with Python. I have a script which was written by a host tech person that ran via cron on my old server. It was designed to read IP addresses from a text file and add them to be blocked on iptables. That way, we could add or remove IPs without involving tech support daily.

We changed hosts and this script is now throwing errors on the new server. This host runs Python 2.6.6. This is the script:

Code:
    #!/usr/bin/python
    import os,time

##Input, Output, and TimeStamp
    inFile = open('/var/www/html/mydomain.com/banlist.txt','r')
    logFile = open('/var/log/banList.log','w')
    stamp = time.asctime(time.localtime())

##Daily Flush of blockList rules before re-applying Blocks
    os.popen('/sbin/iptables -F INPUT')
    logFile.write(stamp), logFile.write('\n'), logFile.write('Flushing Rules..\n')

##Loop to read in file and Apply rules to IPtables
    for line in inFile.readlines():
    	tmp = line.split(';')
     	IP = tmp[0]
    	outPut = os.popen( '/sbin/iptables -A INPUT -s' + ' ' + IP + ' ' + '-j REJECT' )
    	logFile.write(IP), logFile.write(' - Has been blocked '), logFile.write(stamp),logFile.write('\n')
    The errors we're getting are like these:

Bad argument `174.37.65.204'
    Try `iptables -h' or 'iptables --help' for more information.
    Bad argument `94.159.162.182'
    Bad argument `95.134.132.98'
    etc.

Entries from the banlist.txt are like these:

200.193.54.138; February 9, 2013, 7:42 am <br>
    87.120.57.4; February 9, 2013, 7:42 am <br>
    82.206.129.160; February 9, 2013, 7:43 am <br>
    etc.

Can someone tell me what change(s) I need to make to this script to get it working again? Thanks.
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

The iptables command is invalid.