1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

What software for a simulation game?

Hello,

I'm new to programming as I have 1 year of "experience" and python is just a hobby for me. So far the only significant thing I've programmed is a tkinter chess game with a rather simple AI.

I'm looking to develop a simulation game and I've been wondering which piece of software would be best suited for this. It would be a 2D game that simulates a simple ecosystem. So there would be different kinds of animals, some herbivores and some carnivores, interacting with each other and controlled by independent AIs. Because the predators would kill some of the herbivores there would also have to be reproduction. If I managed to do this I could add for example a day and night cycle and the possibility to click on an animal to see how it's doing (if it's healthy etc..).
    In fact it's not much of a game but mostly pure simulation.

I've been researching the subject for some time now and I'm considering to do this with either Pygame, Pyglet or python-ogre but I'm mostly leaning towards pygame as it appears to be the most simple.
    But I know there is a lot of different software out there so perhaps I'm completely wrong in assuming this.
    I wouldn't like to find out mid-development that the software I chose isn't really adapted for this kind of program so I'm hoping that some of you have more experience with game development and could give me some advice.

Thanks in advance
  3. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)

The enthought python distribution includes numpy which has methods for solving differential equations. There are some books about numpy and scipy, Packt Publishing published a few. The online documentation for numpy/scipy has good quality and there's a lot of it with examples. scipy has extensive graphics with which I'm not so familiar because i've typically written data files then graphed as a separate step with gnuplot.