1. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Interpreting a def function

Hi there! I am working on a new project right now and I am having some trouble with this def.. It just seems a bit to messy for me ( I am a rookie in python ) to understand!

Anyone mind commenting the steps of this def?

like # here it does this
    # and now it does this

Code:
    def getEmergingMarketPositions(uploadDate, countryCodes): #get profit center

print "Fetching Emerging Markets Positions"

portfolios = getEmergingMarketPortfolios() 

sql_q = "SELECT c.countrycode,c.counterpartyid,i.isincusipcode,b.system,b.pos_type,"
        sql_q += "b.id_type,b.id,b.pf_id,b.portfolio,b.nominal,b.org_mv,b.currency,b.maturity "
        sql_q += "FROM [CDB].[dbo].[Arms_Bonds] b "
        sql_q += "LEFT JOIN [Prd_process].[dbo].issues i ON "
        sql_q += "b.id_id = i.isincusipcode "
        sql_q += "LEFT JOIN [Prd_process].[dbo].counterparty c ON "
        sql_q += "c.counterpartyid = i.bondissuerid "
        sql_q += "where credit_category <> 'SWAP' AND "
        sql_q += "id_type IS NOT NULL  "
        sql_q += " AND b.nominal <> 0 "
        sql_q += " AND c.countrycode in ('%s')" % "','".join(countryCodes)
        sql_q += " AND b.portfolio in ('%s')" % "','".join(portfolios)

sf = database.connection("DSN=CDB")
        tbl = sf.select(sql_q)

sql_q = "SELECT c.countrycode,c.counterpartyid,i.isincusipcode,b.system,b.pos_type,"
        sql_q += "'' as id_type,b.id,b.pf_id,b.portfolio,b.nominal,b.org_mv,b.currency,b.maturity "
        sql_q += "FROM [CDB].[dbo].[Arms_Frn] b "
        sql_q += "LEFT JOIN [Prd_process].[dbo].issues i ON "
        sql_q += "b.id_id = i.isincusipcode "
        sql_q += "LEFT JOIN [Prd_process].[dbo].counterparty c ON "
        sql_q += "c.counterpartyid = i.bondissuerid "
        sql_q += "where bond_category <> 'SWAP'  "
        sql_q += " AND b.nominal <> 0 "