1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with Python Program

Hi everyone I am new to python, programing and computers in general. I need help writing the following in python code.

Assume the following:
    a. Disk spooling is NOT being used.
    b. The printer does NOT have a hardware buffer to hold the output while the printer is printing
    (The theme music from Mission Impossible is playing faintly in the background).
    SIMULATE the following scenario
    A hypothetical program computes for three seconds then outputs a variable length record to be printed. The printer takes from 0.75 to 4.75 seconds (average time is 2.75 seconds) to print each output record. (Use a random number generator)
    The hypothetical program loops 500 times for each case of software buffers (0, 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 10, 25, and 100 software output buffers). Calculate the AVERAGE time for the program to “virtually compute and print” a record from the 500 records, for EACH of the 9 choices of buffer. Plot the results (by hand is OK). The Y axis is from zero to 8 seconds, and the X axis is nonlinear and displays all nine cases of buffers.

Thank you for your time, John
  3. Banned ;)
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Woodland Hills, Los Angeles County, California, USA
    Question has been asked before many times around the web (including here):
    http://forums.devshed.com/php-develo...ed-885910.html

Quick question, is this a univ. course question or is it on a website somewhere?
    Up the Irons
    What Would Jimi Do? Smash amps. Burn guitar. Take the groupies home.
    "Death Before Dishonour, my Friends!!" - Bruce D ickinson, Iron Maiden Aug 20, 2005 @ OzzFest
    Down with Sharon Osbourne

"I wouldn't hire a butcher to fix my car. I also wouldn't hire a marketing firm to build my website." - Nilpo
  5. Contributing User
    Devshed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)