1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How should I divide this single Python program into two separate *.py files?

This question is basically, "What's the relatively easiest and/or quickest way to divide this program into two *.py files (modules)?" The way that I wrote the question below is, I'm sure, much longer than it needs to be. Being new to the "point of view" of an advisor, I was unsure of what I could leave out, and so I had second thoughts when I started to abridge it all...

It's still a small program, so I should probably not even consider dividing it into separate files at this point (I don't know), but I'm just learning Python still, and also getting ready to code the main part of the program. This phase will take much longer, and I thought it would be easier/more readable to me if I just divide up the code into two separate files, allowing me to concentrate more on this main part that's next. I had a couple of ideas on how to proceed, and searched around on the internet awhile for some clues; but my understanding of what all that I found on the topic is such that it would probably set me back a week trying the few different methods presented, and learning from my inevitable mistakes along the way. So I'm asking for advice on the matter now, so that I'm not completely held up in the process later on down the road. To give a clearer picture of where I'm at, I listed the code of the two separate files that I have below, along with some intro and summary comments to go along with each one.