1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Allowing a slash in a form for half address

Hey everyone,

I need to allow half addresses in a form, but need to make sure to limit the use of slashes for injection reasons. The current regex (java) for my address field is:

Code:
    ^[\\\w----_\\\-~'\\\.#]+(\\\s[\\\w----_\\\-~'\\\.#]+)*$
    What I was thinking about changing it to is:

Code:
    ^[\\\w----_\\\-~'\\\.#(\\\d\\\/\\\d)]+(\\\s[\\\w----_\\\-~'\\\.#(\\\d\\\/\\\d)]+)*$
    I'm not very experienced with regular expressions and was wondering if someone who is would be willing to comment if there's a better way to accomplish this or if this is ok.
  3. No Profile Picture

Update: I tried testing that out but unfortunately it won't do. While it allows for slashes, it allows them in places that it shouldn't, such as 666 Candy/and Drive

Stuck just now so any help would be greatly appreciated.
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

You're using the character class [...] wrong. It can only be used for single characters (hence the name), not for complete expressions. So the expression "(\d/\d)" will be interpreted as the sequence of "(", "\d", "/", "\d" again and ")".

But I think this is going in the wrong direction, anyway. Never try to filter "dangerous" characters. Instead, use the appropriate escaping function.

This reminds me of a joke about a bank, which had a webform saying something like: Your username mustn't contain the words "DROP", "ALTER" etc.

Apart from that, your pattern ---- looks kind of random to me. What is this good for? I mean, there are obviously more "foreign characters" than this.
    The 6 worst sins of security How to (properly) access a MySQL database with PHP

Why cant I use certain words like "drop" as part of my Security Question answers?