1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Help with regular expression, example inside

I am a novice at regular expressions and I need some help with a real easy one for a pro.
    I am using PHP and the preg_replace function. I want to edit out the text that is in between the '()' and the brackets themselves.

Here is an example:
    Yankees (New York) VS White Sox (Chicago)
    I want the result to be:
    Yankees VS White Sox

Thanks in advance!
  3. No Profile Picture
    User 165270

Replace
    Code:
    ([^)]+)
    with an empty string.

Details: http://www.php.net/preg_replace
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by prometheuzz
    Replace
    Code:
    ([^)]+)
    with an empty string.

Details: http://www.php.net/preg_replace
    I appreciate the help. I was unable to get it to work, can you give me an example of the full preg_replace function with the code that will delete out the data I am trying to omit.

Sorry to be a pain in the butt, I actually have done some regex work but it has been a while and I am lost at the moment.
  7. No Profile Picture
    User 165270

Originally Posted by johnevegas
    I appreciate the help. I was unable to get it to work, can you give me an example of the full preg_replace function with the code that will delete out the data I am trying to omit.

Sorry to be a pain in the butt, I actually have done some regex work but it has been a while and I am lost at the moment.
    Did you read the link I posted, or at least part of the link? It explains in great detail how to use the preg_replace function. I already showed you the pattern, the rest is trivial if you are prepared to do just a bit of reading on your own.
  9. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by prometheuzz