1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Matching nested expressions

Dear list,

I'm a real novice when it comes to regular expressions, so be gentle with me.

I would like to match nested expressions. Here's an example of what I want to match:

Suppose I <have> a <tag> like this. But then I might have <tags with <<nested>> tags> in them.

I would like to match:

1. <have>
    2. <tag>
    3. <tags with <<nested>> tags>
    4. <<nested>>

Most are ok, but I'm having trouble getting something to work for 3. I've tried things like:

<[^<]+[^>]>

but this doesn't work. I'm actually wondering if it's even possible to have an expression which can handle all these cases.

Does anyone have an expression that would handle this, or can you give any advice how to proceed?

Many thanks,

Martin
  3. Did you steal it?
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

It could be but it depends on what flavor of regular expressions you're using. In other words, what programming language are you working with?
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

if the nesting can be arbitrarily deep, this is impossible with regular expressions (I mean real regexes, not the pumped up pseudo-regexes by Perl or something).

I know many people think regexes are a kind of all-powerful tool for text manipulation, but they are not. They are in fact the most primitive grammar and cannot be used for complex expressions like nested tags, let alone fully featured languages like XML.

If you want to process nested tags, you'll either need additional code or a more powerful grammar. For example, you could search for both "<" and ">" and use a stack to keep track of the nesting: Whenever you find an opening "<", you add its index to the stack. Whenever you find a closing ">", you take the last index from the stack. This gives you each tag.
  7. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Jacques1
    Hi,