1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Optional character in look-around

Hi people..

I'm not a programmer, nor will I ever be. Still, I need to learn enough of regex to solve some issues I'm working on. I have learned about optional characters and look-around. Now I need to combine these but I'm running into problems and I can't figure it out. I'm sure an experienced programmer could help me along in a minute....?

I'm testing with regex powertoy: (java regex syntax (match only))
    (can't post the url though, but it is a link I found somewhere on these forums)

My target text is:
    wordleft STRING. Wordright

I need to match:
    STRING

My regex:
    (?<=wordleft\s).+(?=\.\sWordright)

And all is well...
    Until I found out that in some case my regex did not return anything. Turns out that the . (dot) is sometimes omitted in my target text.

So I changed my regex to:
    (?<=wordleft\s).+(?=\.?\sWordright)

In my target text without the . this results in: STRING (hurray)
    In my target text with the . this results in: STRING. (booo)
    I need to match STRING whether the . is there or not.
    So I need the . to be optional in my look-around, but when it is there, I don't want to match it...

Now I tried all sorts of quantifiers but without any luck. What did I miss? Any help would be appreciated!
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

this is a typical problem, and it's also the reason why your regex is extremely inefficient.

The dot matches any character, and the pattern .+ swallows the whole string until the very end (or at least until the end of the line).