1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Regex for mod_rewrite

So I have a site that was recently translated from ColdFusion to PHP and moved to an Apache server.

On the CF server, I could specify a 404 handler and the server permitted me to send "200" Header Response Codes. The new server also lets me do that, but sends the 404 codes first!! So many search engines are now NOT indexing these pages. Annoying but unchangeable (as far as I an tell - if someone knows some htaccess hack, let me know). It is on a shared host, so I do have limits as to what I can do on the server itself.

So now I have a situation where I must use mod_rewrite instead of using the 404 error handler script to send the correct HTML to the user's browser. Previously, I simply broke the URL apart in PHP or ColdFusion into arrays from "/" or "-" delimited strings and created variables then included the appropriate php script to generate the HTML.

Problem is, I have little to know experience writing regex (for the mod-rewrite)!

If I get the hang of it for one kind of setting, I know I can apply it to others.

So here is the scenario:

I have URLs requests coming in like:

/Company-Products-X/string1-Y/string2
    or
    /Company-Products-X/string1-string2-Y/string3
    (X and Y are integers, the last sting sometimes contains numbers and hyphens)

and it needs to be translated in mod_rewrite to something like:
    /CompanyProducts/actualscript.php?prodID=Y&type=X

Only URLs that have the initial directory of "/Company-Products-X" should be handled in this fashion.

So I think I need an initial search for that first Directory to CONTAIN "Company-Products" and an integer. Then I need to grab the lone integer at the end of the hyphen delimited string that makes up the second directory and use them to crate the target URL.