1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

regex in my php script ?!!

hello i am studying php and i encountered some regex functions i dont understand , please i need sombody explain what this regex do in simple words in details ?
    after the script get a directory name from $_REQUEST['f'] global variable it is replacing/checking it with this regex ...why ?? here is it :
    // sanitise input
    $f=preg_replace('#^/*|/(/)|/$#','\1',$_REQUEST['f']);
    if(preg_match('#(^|/)\.\./#',$f))exit;

and in another place it is doing this :
    $ps=explode('/',preg_replace('#/[^/]*$#','','/'.$f));

note : in my case the $_REQUEST['f'] = '/dir1/' but i need to understand what the regex check and replace in this directory name...maybe somthing against hackers...?!

thanks
  3. Sarcky
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Please color your code using the [ PHP ] tags (the white PHP page above the edit box will do it for you), it makes it much simpler to read.

Now, as for regular expressions, they're a completely different language than PHP, which is why they have their own forum. It's not recommended you attempt to learn them until you're ready.

These particular expressions:
    PHP Code:
    $f=preg_replace('#^/*|/(/)|/$#','\1',$_REQUEST['f']); 
    Replaces starting slashes with nothing, ending slashes with nothing, and double slashes with a single slash. This is confusingly written, but valid.

PHP Code:
    Returns TRUE if the directory passed is ".." (meaning "up one directory"). This is, as you suspected, an anti-hacking tool.

PHP Code:
    The preg_replace removes the last bit of a path, usually the filename. The explode turns a single string in the format of path/to/something and turns it into an array(0=>path, 1=>to, 2=>something)

-Dan
    HEY! YOU! Read the New User Guide and Forum Rules

"They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety." -Benjamin Franklin