1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Trying to achieve the following email-related regex

I'm using PCRE in PHP under the preg functions.

I want:

-at least one thing before the @
    -exactly one @
    -at least one thing after the @
    -a period between above and below
    -must be something, anything, after period
    -check for multiple @s

Here are two expressions that I wrote:
    Version 1: ^(.)+@(.)+\.(.)+$
    Version 2: ^(.+)@(.+)\.(.+)$

Any problems with either of these expression corresponding to the above criteria? (and which one is preferred?)

I'm new to regex, so all in-depth advice would be appreciated.

If possible, I'd like to do the following as well, but I don't know how to do it in regex. Right now I just do it through other programming functions. Can regex do this? I am not sure it could be built into the expression above, though.

disallow: multiple @s, semicolons, back or forward slashes, commas, and single quotes.
  3. Turn left at the third duck

Hi TwainKor!

The parentheses in your expressions are only useful if you want to capture the content of the parentheses, and retrieve them via $match[1], $match[2] etc (assuming $match is the third parameter in your preg_match).

If you do want to capture something, your second version is better, as the first only captures one character.
    But if you only want to validate (no capture), do away with the parentheses.

Warning: both of your expressions allow multiple @ (the DOT can be an @).

However, you can easily disallow all the characters you specified. Here's the perhaps simplest way to match what you asked for:

Input:
    joe@mama.com

Code:
    Code:
    <?php
    $regex='~^[^@;/\\\\,\']+@[^@;/\\\\,\']+\.[^@;/\\\\,\']+$~';
    $string='joe@mama.com';
    echo preg_match($regex,$string);
    ?>
    Output:

You can be a whole lot more specific if you like, without or without lookarounds.