1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Simple regex to pull value from JSON payload.

First let me apologize for being a total newbiew to regex.

I am sure this is really simple, and any help is greatly appreciated!

The value I am looking to extract exists on its own line, and is always in the same format, so should be pretty straight forward.

This is how the line of data looks in the JSON file:
    "Number": "15806"

I need the number value only.

Thanks!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

Code:
    .*?Number...(\d+)
    Matcher group 1 contains the value you need.
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by noobie1000
    Code:
    .*?Number...(\d+)
    Matcher group 1 contains the value you need.
    Thank you for the reply, but I tried this in several different testers and it did not produce any matches.

I modified what you had and was able to match the Entire string using:
    .*?Number....\d\d\d\d\d.

But that is NOT what I need... I need the match to come back ONLY as 15806 in this example, obviously that number can be anything between 00000-99999.

Does some kind of search/replace need to happen to return only the 15806 value in this instance?
  7. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

You need the parens to capture the number.

Code:
    Number":\s+"(\d+)
    Check on how to access the capture in your programming language.
  9. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Will the regex madness ever stop?

JSON is a common data format. It's well-defined, well-understood and widely used. This means that every mainstream programming language has a JSON parser. It doesn't matter whether you use PHP, Perl, C or this Microsoft stuff: Your language has a parser for JSON. Either built-in or provided by a third-party library.

Use it, for heaven's sake! Parse the JSON file, fetch your data and be happy. It's quick, it's simple, and it's robust.