1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

New to Regex - would need your kind help for a formula

Hi,

I am new in Regex programming and I have met a problem that requires the knowledge of Regex to solve it. I started learning it and I have been awake all the night but in the end I decided to ask this forum.

Problem:
    I would need the formulas:

1. from: "Paris, France Europe"
    extract: "Paris"
    extract: "France"
    extract: "Europe"

2. from: "10.11.2013 - 16.11.2013 20.11.2013 - 26.11.2013"
    extract: "10.11.2013"
    extract: "16.11.2013"
    extract: "20.11.2013"
    extract: "26.11.2013"

3. from: Paris Triathlon Charity Association 20100 Paris Tel: +33 1 72720-0 ∑ Fax: +33 1 72720-4709 email address website address scientific secretary Tel: +33 1 72720-1 Fax: +33 1 72720-4801 email address 2 website address 2

extraxt: "Paris Triathlon Charity Association"
    extract: "20 100 Paris"
    extract: "+33 1 72720-0"
    extract: "+33 1 72720-4709"
    extract: "email address"
    extract: "website address"
    extract: "+33 1 72720-1"
    extract: "+33 1 72720-4801"
    extract: "email address 2"
    extract: "website address 2"

Thank you so much in advance for your very kind help,

Sarah
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,

the first step to solving a problem is to define it. Unfortunately, it has become common to merely write down a bunch of examples and then wait for others to figure out the underlying requirements. This really doesn't help anyone. It's additional work for us, it increases the risk of misunderstandings, and it makes you passive and dependend on others.

You don't have to be a regex pro to define a concrete search pattern that would solve the problem. Just put it into English words.

Take the first task. Judging from the examples, the problem might be something like this:

"We have a bunch of words separated by commas and/or spaces. We want to extract the individual words."