1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Regular Expression Combining Does not start with AND a contains in same group

Help!

I want to say first that I am pretty new to regular expressions. I have played with them a bit but I am no where from an expert on full understanding.

What I want to do is I want to create a group that does two separate functionalities when searching a PDF File name:

1) Does Not Contain "Confirm"
    2) Starts with "SOW" OR "[TEST] SOW"

This means if a PDF named "SOW TEST Confirm REPORT.PDF" OR "[TEST] SOW TEST Confirm REPORT.PDF" it would be excluded but if it was named "SOW TEST REPORT.PDF" OR "[TEST] SOW REPORT.PDF" it would be included.

Here is what I have written and it works when I remove the negative "Does not contain Confirm" but when I add it in, no matter how it either hangs (never does it) or it does it in a way that makes everything negative.

Here is the code without #1 above in it:

Code="^(^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\SOW.*\.pdf|^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\\[TEST\] SOW.*\.pdf).*$"

This works exactly as expected. Anything that starts with "SOW" or "[TEST] SOW" is returned. Anything that doesn't is not.

Now I want to add in the "Does not contain Confirm". I believe the syntax is:

?!Confirm.*\.pdf

I have tried:

Code="^((?!Confirm.*\.pdf|^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\SOW.*\.pdf|^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\\[TEST\] SOW.*\.pdf).)*$"

But that doesn't filter it properly. It basically turns everything to a negative context by where I put the parenthesis at the end.

If I move the parenthesis up:

Code="^((?!Confirm.*\.pdf)|^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\SOW.*\.pdf|^C://Users/All Users/TEST\\\[TEST\] SOW.*\.pdf).*$"

It doesn't filter anything and brings everything back (basically ignores my 3 parameters). How do I get he code to do what I want?

Thank you,
    J
  3. Impoverished Moderator
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)