Thread: Hello

1. Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Hello

Hello, I am interested in learning Ruby. Can anyone suggest a good IDE/Compiler to use? I use Code::Blocks which is multi-platform, but I'm not sure if I can implement Ruby into it... and if I can, then I'm not sure how, as I've never done so before.

Also, can someone tell me some benefits to programming in Ruby?

Thanks,
    Larek
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Novice (500 - 999 posts)

Why are you interested in learning Ruby if you do not yet know the benefits of such an act?

Ruby is a scripting language that is, in many ways, comparable to Python - but don't say that to a Rubyist or Pythonista. Ever.

Your best bet is to employ google and form a rough estimate of what the language can do (pay specific mind to the fact that Ruby is not the same as Ruby on Rails). Once you have that, return with more pointed questions.
    True happiness is not getting what you want, it's wanting what you've already got.

My Blog
  5. Contributing User

Okay, I can do that. Thanks L7Sqr =)

now, to answer your question:

Why are you interested in learning Ruby if you do not yet know the benefits of such an act?
    I want to expand my knowledge from merely coding in C++ and I've tried to learn Perl, but that wasn't a language that I wasn't motivated to learn, and upon looking at some of the questions posted here, Ruby looked like something that would be something I could get into easier than Perl.

one last thing:
    return with more pointed questions.
    I do have one that remains unanswered:

Can anyone suggest a good IDE/Compiler to use? I use Code::Blocks which is multi-platform, but I'm not sure if I can implement Ruby into it... and if I can, then I'm not sure how, as I've never done so before.
    I would like to have some area to code in, so I can at least find out how to do my Hello World program, and fiddle around with it, so as to expand my knowledge.