1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

LoadLibrary & GetProcAddress Problem

Hello one and all,

I'm new to Ruby and i have been trying to get this piece of code to call
    MessageBox but can't. I know I am missing something but I don't know
    what it is. Any help with this would be greatly appreciated!

Here is the code so far:

Code:
    require 'Win32API'

LoadLibrary = Win32API.new('kernel32','LoadLibrary','P','L')
    GetProcAddress = Win32API.new('kernel32','GetProcAddress','LP','L')

Load = LoadLibrary.call('user32.dll')
    Proc = GetProcAddress.call(Load,'MessageBox')

Proc.call(0,"Hello World!","MessageBox in Ruby",0)
    I know everything is ok except my "Proc.call". What am I missing?
  3. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Cross posted at stackoverflow

We need a concrete error description. Saying that the code "doesn't work" doesn't tell us anything.

In any case, you cannot use uppercase identifiers as variable names. Those are interpreted as constants, immediately leading to a naming conflict with the internal Ruby class "Proc".
    The 6 worst sins of security ē How to (properly) access a MySQL database with PHP

Why canít I use certain words like "drop" as part of my Security Question answers?
    There are certain words used by hackers to try to gain access to systems and manipulate data; therefore, the following words are restricted: "select," "delete," "update," "insert," "drop" and "null".
  5. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by Jacques1
    Cross posted at stackoverflow

We need a concrete error description. Saying that the code "doesn't work" doesn't tell us anything.

In any case, you cannot use uppercase identifiers as variable names. Those are interpreted as constants, immediately leading to a naming conflict with the internal Ruby class "Proc".