1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Smile A Newbie's System Date-Related Problem

Hi. I'm new to Ruby and I like it. But even after digesting all the good documentation, when I started a small project for planning my day, I ran into a few problems. Let me explain.

I want a script that I can run any time which will basically give messages based on system time and date. For each day, I have two "sessions". So, if it's the 10AM-12AM session of Monday, the message will be "WPD work". If it is 5PM-7PM session of Friday, the program will message "WordPress work" and so on.

It's basically like a database.

Now, for this, I want to use conditional if statements (suggest if there's a better way ). So I don't know much about how to play with time and date, so here's a rough sketch of what I want to do:

Code:
    if day=Monday do puts "WPD work" end
    I know it's not that simple. I also tried other approaches like:

Code:
    time=Time.new
    puts"\t\t\tToday:"+time.strftime("%a")
    But then I don't know how to use this returned data value for further processing, like the below snippet doesn't work:

Code:
    if time.strftime("%a")="Friday" do puts "WordPress work" end
    Using this in this way doesn't even make sense anyway. I just tried. As I said, I'm completely unfamiliar with handling system date and type. Suppose I opt for user-input:

Code:
    day=gets.chomp
    So you see, it's SO simple. All I need is a time-range and day name to proceed further. That's ALL. But I seem to be unable to get that automatically from system.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)