1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Simple array compare question

I have two text files, that I am trying to compare and I am not having much luck creating the output I need when I try comparing them.

The first file auth_users contains a list of users that have been granted a certain permission. Each line has a single entry, a userid. The userid's are not guaranteed to be unique in the file; the file might look something like this:

user1
    user2
    user1
    user9

The second file all_users contains userids and the airport code closest to the users office location. Something like this:

user1 ABQ
    user2 ACY
    user1000 BIL

I am trying to take each entry from the array I created from auth_users, match it against the array for the all_user array and then print the corresponding record from the all_users array.

I am a newbie and I'm sure this is a two second answer for someone whom know what they are doing. I tried a million things but cannot produce the results I am looking for; currently my code looks like this:

Code:
    authUsers=File.readlines("auth_users.lst")
    allUsers=File.readlines("all_users.lst")

authUsers.sort.uniq.each do |uid|
         put allUsers.any? {uid}
    end
    This seems to do the match (prints true the expected amount of times), but how do I print the matching lines from the allUsers array?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated.
  3. No Profile Picture

got it to work but..

Is there a better "ruby" way than this?

Code:
    authUsers = ["user1","user2","user1"]
    allUsers = ["user1 abq","user2 bos","user3 mar"]

authUsers.sort.uniq.each do |authorized|

allUsers.each do |user|

puts user if (user[authorized])
            end
    end
  5. --
    Devshed Expert (3500 - 3999 posts)

Hi,