1. A Change of Season
    Devshed Frequenter (2500 - 2999 posts)

Are there any downsides of having multiple versions of a website?

Hello;

A few years back I made some real life database driven website in order to learn php and mysql.

A few of those sites actually took off and started making me a little bit of money! Members started to join and now there are 10 thousands members! The way they've been coded looks absolutely ridiculous! Vunrable to sql injection, xss, no code structure,...

I started learning Codeigniter about a month ago and I can do things much better now. In order to learn CI, I started remaking those sites. Basically using the same database but proper.

I was wondering if there is any problems with having multiple versions of a website online? I will eventually remove the old sites but for now until the new ones pick up in google I am gonna have multiple ones. For example www.site1.com shows all the listings from my database and so does www.site2.com

So If anyone ads listings to this database, both these sites show it.

Is there any problems with that? I donno maybe Google doesn't like duplicates or any other issues I am not aware of?

It may even be a good idea to have multiple sites using the same database! Or is it?

Thank you.
  3. Code Monkey V. 0.9
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

This is not a PHP question, but an SEO one... Maybe a mod can move the topic.

Google doesn't like duplicates. If you have two sites that have the same information on them, Google will pick the one site to display in it's results and basically "forget" the other site.

Why not just update the first site with your new code and run it there instead of having two separate sites?
  5. Did you steal it?
    Devshed Supreme Being (6500+ posts)

Moved.