|
|
|||||||||
|
|||||||||
| |||||||||
|
|
|
| |||||||||
![]() |
|
|
«
Previous Thread
|
Next Thread
»
|
Thread Tools | Search this Thread | Rate Thread | Display Modes |
|
#1
|
||||
|
||||
|
Have I been blacklisted by Google?
My homepage (www.playhard.co.uk) has a PR of 3, but when I search for it in Google it doesnt appear anywhere. Even if I search for it using a random string of words from my homepage it doesn't appear. On MSN and Yahoo it is OK.
I havent used any "bad" techniques, only some standard SEO. My questions are: 1. Have I been blacklisted by Google? 2. How would I know? 3. Is there any way back from the edge? Thanks.
__________________
Interested in online gaming? Read independent advice, rules and tips and find details of all UK casinos.
Uk online casino |Roulette Strategy |William Hill | Viurgin | Jackpot joy | Spread Betting UK Last edited by dominoman : February 20th, 2005 at 11:05 AM. Reason: mistake |
|
#2
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Online casinos are AFAIK generally blacklisted by google. I read something about online gambling being illegal if not run by the state here in Europe. And google could get sued for helping criminals if they listed you or something like that. (Sorry, source lost. I'm searching, if I find it I'll post the URL) M.
__________________
-- Manuel Hirsch - Linux, FreeBSD, programming, administration articles, tutorials and more. |
|
#3
|
|||
|
|||
|
It's not only limited to Europe, here's an article about US laws:
http://www.securityfocus.com/columnists/229 And another directly from google: http://answers.google.com/answers/threadview?id=302282 |
|
#4
|
||||
|
||||
|
Thanks for the articles. I know that online gambling is illegal in the US, but fortunately it isn't from most countries. My site is just one of many casino sites that try to do a good job of reviewing sites, providing hints and tips, and promoting responsible gambling.
I dont understand why my site has been blacklisted, while thousands of others are OK. Is it worth removing casino references from the site.? Google are still crawling the site so are they likely to re-include it in their results? It would be terrible to lose so much hard work and several hundred pages of good content. |
|
#5
|
|||
|
|||
|
Quote:
Sorry, I don't know too much about this business and I'd argue on your use of "fortunately" and "most countries". But this isn't the topic here. I only read these articles over the last months, and from my understanding it is illegal in the EU too. If you aren't providing online gambling but only a listing of sites, maybe you should contact google and ask about the issue. Make sure you supply as many details as possible to get their attention. To check if you have been blacklisted, google for "site:www.your-domain.tld". If it isn't listed there, then you're either blacklisted or you have to be more patient until they updated their index again. Google still crawling your site is a good sign I think, but I'm not a SEO expert. M. |
|
#6
|
||||
|
||||
|
M. Thanks. The site is still listed. If I do "site:www.your-domain.tld" it returns several hundred pages from my site. However none of these turn up in the SERPS.
I wonder whether this is an approach where Google are withholding some legitimate sites from their results without actually blacklisting them, perhaps because they are worried about being involved in negative publicity. |
![]() |
| Viewing: Dev Shed Forums > Web Design > Search Engine Optimization > Have I been blacklisted by Google? |
| Thread Tools | Search this Thread |
| Display Modes | Rate This Thread |
|
|
|
|