Search Engine Optimization
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me
Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsWeb DesignSearch Engine Optimization

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old August 14th, 2004, 09:47 AM
Three's Avatar
Three Three is offline
Rosy Cheeked
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland, UK
Posts: 361 Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 9 h 14 m 12 sec
Reputation Power: 12
Send a message via MSN to Three
strange seo tactic?

i've never really bothered with seo before, but i recently had a play and apparently i have PR 4 .

but that aside, i found this site when running a keyword search for 'en3cl':

http://www.downloady.net/float-notes-1-1.htm

a page from my site is referenced in the section at the bottom,
Quote:
Structure - [ Traduzca esta página ]
... Size - 1em - for standard text and headers, 0.6em - for notes, 1.1em - for ... Arial,
Helvetica, sans-serif; font-weight: 700; font-size: 1em; float: left; color ...
www.bath.ac.uk/~en3cl/structure.html - 5k - En caché - Páginas similares


it is obviously too small to read, i assume this is some kind of seo tactic, could someone explain what they're doing, and if i should be worried?

edit----

i should probably point out that i have no idea what this site is or how a reference to my site would get on some kind of spanish illegal download site

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old August 15th, 2004, 07:12 AM
SkyRocket's Avatar
SkyRocket SkyRocket is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Sydney - Australia
Posts: 128 SkyRocket User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 1 h 1 m 49 sec
Reputation Power: 5
They probably made a typo at their end and didn't mean to link to you at all? For example, I have a company linking to me thinking I am a mining company I haven't complained as all backlinks are solid gold according to the current Google algorithm. I wouldn't be worried about it. If the spanish site has a good PR I would be happy about it!
__________________
PAUL
SkyRocket Design Co
website design sydney

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old August 15th, 2004, 07:27 AM
Three's Avatar
Three Three is offline
Rosy Cheeked
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Cleveland, UK
Posts: 361 Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)Three User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 3 Days 9 h 14 m 12 sec
Reputation Power: 12
Send a message via MSN to Three
it's not a link though, it's just a honking great list of sites at the bottom about 100 of them, seemingly random...

www.eastbourne.gov.uk/Your_Home/ downloads/fire-safety2.pdf

www.tanzania.go.tz/images/AnnexesFINAL.pdf

www.hicksdesign.co.uk/journal/237/ie-5-mac-notes



and it's hardly a typo, they have a little snippet from my page

There are some really weird people out there!

edit, they have a PR 0

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old August 17th, 2004, 03:44 PM
dolay dolay is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 103 dolay User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 3 h 18 m 38 sec
Reputation Power: 5
This is a pure ranking scam but nothing more
__________________
Domain register, reselling and hosting services by Newista, Inc.
cPanel Hosting :. Free Unique IP for every shared hosting plan!
Reseller Hosting :. Ability to create unlimited site hosting accounts.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old August 20th, 2004, 10:46 PM
dejaone dejaone is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 300 dejaone User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 8 h 7 m 22 sec
Reputation Power: 5
they can generate some useless hits from those who check their logs

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsWeb DesignSearch Engine Optimization > strange seo tactic?


Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump


Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 





© 2003-2008 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster 5 hosted by Hostway