Security and Cryptography
 
Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
User Name:
Password:
Remember me

The Shed is going Social! Join us on FaceBook and Twitter and chime in on the conversation.

Go Back   Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationSecurity and Cryptography

Reply
Add This Thread To:
  Del.icio.us   Digg   Google   Spurl   Blink   Furl   Simpy   Y! MyWeb 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Rate Thread Display Modes
 
Unread Dev Shed Forums Sponsor:
  #1  
Old April 5th, 2002, 02:16 PM
style style is offline
Junior Member
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 3 style User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via AIM to style
Question Banning

I'm having a problem here well sorta i made a .htaccess file and added a IP that i wanted block from viewing my site but as i read on another tutorial site about banning you can also add URLS?
exsample .aol.com as they stated in there tut, lead with the DOT but i tried that and it dont seem to work but i lookd in my log file and i keep getting this same IP well not a IP but it has a bunch of numbers before then after the numbers it has swfl.rr.com which is out of FL, cable is there away to find the IP of that person? or can add that in my htacces file everything it has including the numbers here is what i'm getting from my logs [ 67838hfc159.swfla.rr.com ] if anyone can give me some help many thanks

Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old April 5th, 2002, 05:38 PM
AlCapone's Avatar
AlCapone AlCapone is offline
Mobbing Gangster
Dev Shed Demi-God (4500 - 4999 posts)
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: "Best City" 2002 and 2003- Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 4,912 AlCapone User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)AlCapone User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)AlCapone User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)AlCapone User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level)AlCapone User rank is Sergeant (500 - 2000 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: 5 h 36 m 31 sec
Reputation Power: 31
Send a message via ICQ to AlCapone Send a message via AIM to AlCapone Send a message via Yahoo to AlCapone
Are you sure that is the format you get in your logs? I would expect swfla.rr.com (SouthWestFLoridA) follow the same format as most others *.rr.com, that is reversed ip appended to network. ie ip 12.34.56.78 would be 78-56-34-12.swfla.rr.com. Anyway, turn off HostnameLookups in httpd.conf and it'll leave just ips in logs.
__________________
And you know I mean that.

Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old April 5th, 2002, 05:51 PM
style style is offline
Junior Member
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 3 style User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via AIM to style
BANNING

Yes that is what i'm getting in my stats from my website logs as i just checked again this addy or IP is showing up ( 67838hfc159.swfla.rr.com ) and yes its out of south florida as i traced it with neo tracer pro and went to that url but what would i put in the .htaccess file that whole number with swfla.rr.com? ok i'll try turning off that feature if i can find it lol..


OK follow up i talked with my host and i CAN"T shut that feature off its set by default any other suggestion in how to ban this address 67838hfc159.swfla.rr.com please let me know thanks

Last edited by style : April 5th, 2002 at 07:37 PM.

Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old April 6th, 2002, 02:03 AM
freebsd freebsd is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 5 freebsd User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Just put deny from 67838hfc159.swfla.rr.com to http://yourdomain.com/.htaccess

Though, on a shared host requests from him will still show up in your error log with [403] error. Filtering unwanted log is another story which you can't do on a shared host.

Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old April 6th, 2002, 11:00 PM
style style is offline
Junior Member
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Ca
Posts: 3 style User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
Send a message via AIM to style
BANNING

But will it ban that person if i put 67838hfc159.swfla.com and whatever they use if i see that addy in my .htaccess file?

Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old April 8th, 2002, 06:12 AM
freebsd freebsd is offline
Contributing User
Dev Shed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 5 freebsd User rank is Just a Lowly Private (1 - 20 Reputation Level) 
Time spent in forums: < 1 sec
Reputation Power: 0
If that person is on dailup with dynamic IP then of course you really are banning that FQDN rather than the person.
And if that's the IP of a gateway with 100 people behind it you will ban that 100 people as well.

Reply With Quote
Reply

Viewing: Dev Shed ForumsSystem AdministrationSecurity and Cryptography > Banning

Developer Shed Advertisers and Affiliates



Thread Tools  Search this Thread 
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes  Rate This Thread 
Rate This Thread:


Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
View Your Warnings | New Posts | Latest News | Latest Threads | Shoutbox
Forum Jump

Forums: » Register « |  User CP |  Games |  Calendar |  Members |  FAQs |  Sitemap |  Support | 
  
 


Powered by: vBulletin Version 3.0.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2013, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.

© 2003-2013 by Developer Shed. All rights reserved. DS Cluster - Follow our Sitemap