1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Basic question about relationship between Encryption Algorithm and Encryption Key

Hello All, can someone please help me with the following question.

I am new to understanding this subject.

I understand the very basics (or at least I think I do ) but I am trying to see how the above fit together.

In a very simply format. (apologies the following seems extremely simple, as I am trying to get a solid understanding of the fundamentals)

I understand an "Encryption Algorithm" is simply "a set of defined steps"

Therefore if we take the plain text "House" and the Encryption Algorithm steps are "substitute each letter in the plain text for the next letter to the right (Z would become A) in the alphabet we end up with "IPVTF" so now we have encrypted message so as long the intended recipient knows the "Encryption Algorithm" (in case he want to send a message back) he/she can easy deduce the "Decryption Algorithm" e.g. substitute each letter in the cypher text with the on to its left in the alphabet.

In the old days I understand that is basically how they used to do it (e.g. the Romans) and the main ideas was not to let a third party get hold of the "Algorithm" used.

I understand in the modern world no one tries to hide the Algorithm used any more, but rather they try to keep the "Encryption Key" secret (Private key in case of PKI)

So what I am thinking we now have three things

1: "plain text"
    2: "Encryption Algorithm"
    3: "Encryption Key"

Lets assume everyone knows the "Encryption Algorithm" used. And lets say the Encryption Key is a Symmetric key known only to sender and intended recipient

Now I assume the plain text is first sent through the "Encryption Algorithm" (move each letter one to the right in my first example).

Now my question is where does the Encryption Key come in? is it used to encrypt the message for a second time before sending?