1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

How to crack zip-file with AES 128

Hello!
    I am a student at a course in IT Security. Our teacher is very focused on encryption/decryption so we have been assigned a couple of tasks to decrypt various files that he has given us.
    I am struggling to crack a zip-file that contain a couple of pictures and a text-file.

There is a phrase in the textfile and the goal is to get the phrase and mail this to the teacher.

The zip-files is encrypted with AES-128 and a 8 character long password. The password is most likely a random password, if it is a phrase-password it is probably based on a english word.

I dont know anything else about the password but I guess it is composed by a mix of upper-case, lower-case letters and some numbers. I also guess that it is a random password.

It is impossible to do a bruteforce-attack since it would take at least a couple of thousand years on a standard computer, and I have about 1 week to solve this problem.
    It also doesnt seem possible to do a standard plain-text attack as this does not seem to work with AES-encrypted zip-files.

I have tried to do a couple of dictionary attacks but have had no success. I suspect one problem is that the dictionary attack only uses letters (mixed case) and I suspect it might be numbers in the password as well. And if the password is not constructed from a word then a dictionary attack is useless.

I have access to a server with 8 cores CPU and about 16 GB of memory to speed up the process.

I have used these programs to try to crack the encrypted zip file:
    Passware Kit Enterprise
    Elcomsoft Advanced Archive Password Recovery
    Pkcrack 1.2.2

These are the known facts about the zip-file:
    -Encrypted with AES-128
    -The password is 8 characters long
    -The zip-file contains 4 pictures (JPEG) and a text-file
    -The goal is to decrypt the text-file to read the text in it

-This seem to be the HEX Header of the zip-file