1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

database and php security

I am a web hosting reseller and I have a possible client asking about security for his data stored in a MySql database and accessed by php. This data will be from a small county government and will only contain public documents.

Each domain on my host gets its own database but no control over the database installation so I really don't know - besides the version - what I'm looking at.

I know to use phpinfo file to get that info. I know that the databases are all accessed via localhost, php 4.2.3 is operating in safe mode and the mysql version is 3.23.39.

What else can I tell about the possible security problems with this system by looking at the info file?

Secondly, I use a wide variety of php open source code on this server and I have no earthly idea how safe this stuff is. I am no programmer but I'm learning fast how to work with already made files.

Please, some words of advice!
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

You can restrict access to the MySQL server to either localhosts or from the webservers. If it is possible I would recommend using ssl to run your scripts.
  5. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Okay, localhost is what is happening. I can to go to ssl as well when accessing and using the admin functions. Anybody else got words of wisdom? Thank you, Victor
  7. Full Access
    Devshed Regular (2000 - 2499 posts)

Each domain on my host gets its own database but no control over the database installation so I really don't know - besides the version - what I'm looking at.
    What are you looking for?
    I know to use phpinfo file to get that info. I know that the databases are all accessed via localhost, php 4.2.3 is operating in safe mode and the mysql version is 3.23.39.