1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

Formal definitions of Read, Write, and Execute permissions

I am new to web development and after some searching still couldn't really understand the exact meanings of Read, Write, and Execute permissions. I can't go by common-sense meanings because, for example, the World can't see a web page with World/Execute checked and World/Read unchecked but it can vice versa.
  3. No Profile Picture
    Contributing User

As a rule 644 (rw-r-r--) permissions must be set for all PHP, HTML and other non CGI scripts/files so the website will work fine, without any errors. CGI scripts must have 755 (rwxr-xr-x) permissions. Also you shouldn't forget about folders permissions. For normal access a folder must have 755 access permissions otherwise a server will not be able to access script/file and execute it. For more detailed answer I need to know which scripts you are executing and what user they are executed by, then I will be able to explain why it should be done in that way.

Comments on this post

• Halyn agrees
  5. No Profile Picture

Hi Dmitry, I'm currently on a shared hosting plan (probably going VPS or dedicated in the future though), and the only person with access to the website account is me. I'm not familiar with CGI scripts at this point and wouldn't know how to pick them out to ensure they have the proper permissions. At the moment, I know that the site will have HTML, CSS, JS, and PHP files, and also a MySQL database. The site will also somehow integrate an Authorize.net system for e-commerce (I don't know what all that involves yet script-wise).