1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

RSA / encryption method strength

Hello, all.

I'm no cryptography expert, but today I put together a system that will be used to store highly sensitive information "out in the cloud" - so I've tried to make it as secure as possible using RSA.

I understand that the generally accepted practice is to use RSA to share a symmetric (e.g. AES) key, but in this particular case, I've chosen to instead use a combination of CBC with RSA to encrypt the data in chunks (using the same key, for practicality reasons).

i.e. To circumvent the length restrictions of RSA, the data to be encrypted is broken into chunks and each chunk is encrypted. Additionally, prior to the RSA encryption, each chunk is XOR'd against the previous chunk (in its post-XOR state).

My question is, is there a direct security weakness caused by this implementation compared to the usual symmetric system? Speed is not an issue as this information will be accessed very rarely.

Thanks in advance.
  3. No Profile Picture

Originally Posted by JNR
    Hello, all.

I'm no cryptography expert, but today I put together a system that will be used to store highly sensitive information "out in the cloud" - so I've tried to make it as secure as possible using RSA.

I understand that the generally accepted practice is to use RSA to share a symmetric (e.g. AES) key, but in this particular case, I've chosen to instead use a combination of CBC with RSA to encrypt the data in chunks (using the same key, for practicality reasons).

i.e. To circumvent the length restrictions of RSA, the data to be encrypted is broken into chunks and each chunk is encrypted. Additionally, prior to the RSA encryption, each chunk is XOR'd against the previous chunk (in its post-XOR state).

My question is, is there a direct security weakness caused by this implementation compared to the usual symmetric system? Speed is not an issue as this information will be accessed very rarely.