1. No Profile Picture
    Devshed Newbie (0 - 499 posts)

RSA Verification in Browser for Chiptune Website, padding needed?

Hi! I'm the developer of a website for creating chiptune music called beepbox. I'm not allowed to post URLs yet since I'm a new user, but you can google it if you're interested.

I'm investigating ways to provide some notion of authenticity when people publish songs through my interface. I've been doing a bunch of research on cryptography to come up with a plan, but I'm not a professional security expert so I definitely need a few more eyeballs to take a look at it before I commit to it. I'd appreciate any advice you guys have, including connections with other people who know what they're talking about.

There are two problems I'm trying to solve:

1. You should not be able to take a song you wrote and claim someone else wrote it. I'm actually not too worried about this kind of abuse (who would even do that and what would it accomplish?) so my solution doesn't need to be 100% secure here, just difficult. My current plan is that authors provide a "password" that gets hashed and then visualized as an avatar, much like Gravatar defaults. So if two songs have different avatars, then either they were submitted by different people or one person figured out the other's password.

2. You should not be able to take someone else's song and claim that you wrote it first. (You are welcome to publish derived songs, since imitation is an important part of learning, not to mention flattery.) I imagine this sort of abuse would be more likely and more damaging. So in my plan, when you publish a song, the date is provided by a server acting as an authority, so nobody can lie about when they published a song. It sounds like we're gonna need a digital signature with the private key on the server, asserting that this song was published by someone claiming to be this author on this date.